Situationsplan Zollhaus

Zollhaus

In the midst of the intensive construction phase of the Kalkbreite  housing estate, the opportunity arose to acquire another attractive and highly urban building site in the city of Zurich. It was put up for sale in mid-October 2012 by the umbrella organization of Housing Cooperatives Zurich on behalf of the landowners SBB and the City of Zurich. It is almost 5,000 m2 in size and is located at the corner of Langstrasse/Zollstrasse, near Zurich Central Train Station.

The Kalkbreite Cooperative bid with ten other non-profit developers for the area and registered the “Zollhaus Project”. At the end of January 2013, three of the cooperatives were invited to personally present their project idea to the jury – two representatives each from the city, housing cooperative and SBB – including Kalkbreite Cooperative. It prevailed against its competitors and was offered the property for sale in February 2013. The jury was particularly impressed by the “experience in the development of commercial and public-oriented areas” and the “approach to the development of a suitable mix of uses”.

The jury also gave a positive assessment:

Schnitt durch Ladenlokal Zollhaus
  • Procedure concept for the inclusion of both the future users and the adjoining neighborhood
  • Commitment to low overall rents for a wide range of apartments for a large number of residents
  • Experience with a project in a similar urban location
  • Organization and personnel capacities for project development
  • Willingness to build subsidized housing

Read our application here (german only):

Download Zollhaus application

Visualisierung Gleisterasse Zollhaus

Zollhaus offers a wide range of space for living, working, culture and community, creating a lively place that meets the needs of the neighborhood and implements new visions of living together. The Zollhaus project has been under construction since May 2018 and should be completed in the third quarter of 2020. Almost all the commercial space – a colorful mix of offices, restaurants, retail space and cultural spaces – has already been let; the apartments will be put out to tender at the beginning of 2019.

Download project documentation August 2017 (german only)

On the occasion of the 10th anniversary of Kalkbreite Cooperative in September 2017, we asked Dimphie Slooters about the origins of Zollhaus (2,5 Minutes).

Zollgarten

Since we are building the Zollhaus, we are also committed to the wasteland next door, where the Zollgarten is to be built in the future.

Further information

Situationsplan Zollhaus

Das Zollhaus

Mitten in der intensiven Bauphase der Siedlung Kalkbreite eröffnete sich die Möglichkeit, ein weiteres attraktives und hochurbanes Bauareal in der Stadt Zürich zu erwerben. Es wurde Mitte Oktober 2012 vom Dachverband der Wohnbaugenossenschaften Zürich im Auftrag der Grundeigentümerinnen SBB und Stadt Zürich zum Kauf ausgeschrieben, ist knapp 5’000 m2 gross und liegt an der Ecke Langstrasse/Zollstrasse, nahe dem Hauptbahnhof Zürich.

Die Genossenschaft Kalkbreite bewarb sich mit zehn weiteren gemeinnützigen Bauträgern für das Areal und gab das „Projekt Zollhaus“ ein. Ende Januar 2013 wurden drei der Genossenschaften eingeladen, ihre Projektidee der Jury – je zwei Vertreter*innen von Stadt, wbg und SBB – persönlich zu präsentieren, darunter die Genossenschaft Kalkbreite. Sie konnte sich gegen ihre Mitbewerberinnen durchsetzen und erhielt im Februar 2013 das Grundstück zum Kauf angeboten. Die Jury überzeugte insbesondere die «Erfahrung bei der Entwicklung von gewerbe- und publikumsorientierter Flächen» sowie die «Herangehensweise bei der Entwicklung eines geeigneten Nutzungsmixes».

Die Jury hob ausserdem positiv hervor:

Schnitt durch Ladenlokal Zollhaus
  • Vorgehenskonzept zum Einbezug sowohl der zukünftigen Nutzer*innen als auch des angrenzenden Quartiers
  • Bekenntnis zu insgesamt günstigen Wohnungsmieten bei grosser Bandbreite für eine Vielzahl von Bewohner*innen
  • Erfahrung mit einem Projekt an einer ähnlichen, urbanen Lage
  • Organisation und personelle Kapazitäten für die Projektentwicklung
  • Bereitschaft zur Erstellung von subventionierten Wohnungen

Hier kannst Du unsere Bewerbung lesen:

Download Bewerbung Zollhaus

Visualisierung Gleisterasse Zollhaus

Mit einem vielfältigen Raumangebot für Wohnen, Arbeiten, Kultur und Gemeinschaft entsteht im Zollhaus ein lebendiger Ort, der den Bedürfnissen des Quartiers entspricht und neue Visionen des Zusammenlebens umsetzt. Das Projekt Zollhaus befindet sich seit Mai 2018 im Bau und die 56 Wohnungen sollen im dritten Quartal 2020 bezogen werden. Fast alle Gewerbeflächen – ein bunter Mix aus Büros, Gastro- und Verkaufsflächen sowie Kulturräumen – sind bereits vermietet, die Wohnungen werden Anfang 2019 ausgeschrieben.

Download Projektdokumentation August 2017

Anlässlich des 10-Jahre-Jubiläums der Genossenschaft Kalkbreite im September 2017 befragten wir Dimphie Slooters, Mitglied der Genossenschaft, zu den Anfängen des Zollhauses (2,5 Minuten).

Zollgarten

Weil wir das Zollhaus bauen, engagieren wir uns auch für die Brache gleich nebenan, wo zukünftig der Zollgarten entstehen soll.

Weitere Informationen