Innenhof Kalkbreite

“A new part of town”

Perimeter Kalkbreite

Under this working title, a handful of district residents and professionals began to materialize their vision of a sustainable and innovative development of the Kalkbreite site in 2006. One year later, the group was established as the broadly supported and well-networked Kalkbreite Cooperative, which was granted the 6,350m2 site by the City of Zurich under building laws. After many participatory processes, the vision was condensed into a project that mastered the complex local conditions and at the same time transformed the requirements of a socially and ecologically pioneering urban living space into contemporary architecture.

Vision Kalkbreite

The estate was opened in 2014. It stands within a triangle of three streets: Seebahngraben, Badener and Kalkbreitestrasse. The tram depot on site was covered and transformed into a tram hall. The top has been turned into a 2,500m2 terrace above the tracks available to residents and the public as a green recreation area. Thanks to its location, its commercial enterprises and restaurants, its innovative living concept and excellent public transport connections, Kalkbreite has quickly developed into a lively district center.

Project documentation August 2014 (german only)

Guided tours

Interest in residential and commercial construction at Kalkbreite is still high. Due to the numerous inquiries we are unfortunately not able to offer individual guided tours to all those interested. However, private guided tours for selected groups are still possible (for a fee). Please note the special regulations. For all others, public guided tours take place twice a year. Tour dates and times are published at the events page and sent out in the newsletter.

Innenhof Kalkbreite

„Ein neues Stück Stadt“

Perimeter Kalkbreite

Unter diesem Titel entwarfen 2006 eine Handvoll Quartierbewohner*innen und Fachleute die Vision einer nachhaltigen und innovativen Bebauung des Kalkbreite-Areals. Ein Jahr später ist aus der Gruppe die breit abgestützte und gut vernetzte Genossenschaft Kalkbreite geworden, die das 6’350 m2 grosse Areal von der Stadt Zürich im Baurecht zugesprochen bekam. Die Vision wurde in vielen partizipativen Prozessen zu einem Projekt verdichtet, das die komplexen örtlichen Rahmenbedingungen meisterte und zugleich die Vorgabe eines sozial und ökologisch pionierhaften urbanen Lebensraums in zeitgemässe Architektur umsetzte.

Vision Kalkbreite

Die Siedlung wurde 2014 eröffnet. Sie steht im Dreieck zwischen Seebahngraben, Badener- und Kalkbreitestrasse. Die Tramabstellanlage auf dem Areal wurde überdeckt und somit zur Tramhalle. Die dadurch entstandene, 2’500 m2 grosse Terrasse über den Gleisen steht den Bewohner*innen und der Öffentlichkeit als grüner Erholungsraum zur Verfügung. Dank ihrer Lage, den Gewerbebetrieben und den Gastronomielokalen, den innovativen Nutzungen sowie der hervorragenden Erschliessung mit dem öffentlichen Verkehr hat sich die Kalkbreite rasch zu einem lebendigen Zentrum im Quartier entwickelt.

Projektdokumentation August 2014

Führungen

Das Interesse am Wohn- und Gewerbebau Kalkbreite ist noch immer hoch. Aufgrund der zahlreichen Anfragen ist es uns leider nicht möglich, für alle Interessierten eine individuelle Führung durchzuführen. Private Führungen für ausgewählte Gruppen sind aber weiterhin möglich (mit Unkostenbeitrag). Bitte beachte die speziellen Bestimmungen dazu. Für alle anderen finden zwei Mal im Jahr öffentliche Führungen statt. Die Daten werden jeweils bei den Veranstaltungen publiziert und im Newsletter versendet.